Coconut Hot Fudge Sauce

18 Feb

Necessity is the mother of delicious ice cream sauces, apparently. I wanted to make this sauce a few months ago and didn’t want to go and get cream, so I used coconut cream instead and turned the deliciousness up to 11.

image of chocolate sauce in a bowl

Coconut Hot Fudge Sauce
Barely adapted from Alexa Johnston’s What’s for Pudding? She got it from Lois Daish, so I don’t feel bad about stealing it, renaming it, and possibly making it 10 times a week for the rest of my life.

ice cream in a ceramic cup shaped like a blue ice cream cone

Check out how cute my flatmate's ice cream cups are. I guess she isn't a total life ruiner.

Ingredients

1/4 cup golden syrup
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup cocoa – I like this stuff
3/4 cup sugar
50g butter
1/4 cup coconut cream (okay, look, or you can use regular cream, if you are a life-ruiner like my new flatmate and don’t like coconut. We shall have separate, personalised sauce jars.)

ice cream in ceramic cup and bowl of sauce on a blue teatowel

Method

1. Chuck everything in a medium-sized saucepan.

2. Stir until everything is dissolved, then bring to the boil over a low heat and allow it to boil for two to ten minutes, depending on your patience. This will boil over if you let it, so stir it every now and then and I wouldn’t leave the room for too long.

3. Remove from heat and let cool to the point at which you can pour it over your ice cream and the ice cream doesn’t melt too much. (You can see from my photos that I was impatient. It will still taste good if you don’t wait long enough but it won’t look quite as cute.)

ice cream with sauceclose up of sauce on ice cream

6 Responses to “Coconut Hot Fudge Sauce”

  1. Cara Marie 18/02/2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Once I make my caramel nut sauce, then you’ll forgive me.

    • Tui Head 18/02/2012 at 5:11 pm #

      I’m pretty weak for caramel, so this is probably true.

  2. Steve Stirrat 28/02/2012 at 4:06 pm #

    arrrgh Im guessing this is baad for you if you have it more than once a week!

    • Tui Head 28/02/2012 at 5:07 pm #

      So is not using apostrophes. Bad grammar kills, you know.

  3. Round Cab Flower Drawing 11/02/2014 at 10:24 pm #

    It is a informative post , thanks for sharing

  4. Joanna Sjösten 17/04/2014 at 1:30 am #

    Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! :)

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list! If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Joanna
    mytaste.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

